Caribbean News – Here Is The Full Cabinet Of The New Barbados Government

New Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Amor Mottley. (GIS Image)

News Americas, BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, Weds. May 30, 2018: Over the weekend, Barbados’ first elected female Prime Minister, Mia Mottley named her Cabinet after being sworn in officially on Friday, March 25, 2018. The new cabinet consists of 30 members and 12 senators.

Referring to what some people consider a “gigantic Cabinet,” she said: “My Cabinet will be relatively large because I have not only considered the mandate given to us by the people but also the scope of the work to be done and the level of expertise at our disposal among elected members.”

Barbados Hotels

The new Cabinet members sworn in on May 26th are:

  • Prime Minister Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment & National Security – Mia Mottley
  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance – Ryan Straughn
  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment – Marsha Caddle
  • Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs – Dale Marshall
  • Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training and Leader of Government Business – Santia Bradshaw
  • Minster of Housing, Lands and Rural Development – George Payne
  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Housing, Lands and Rural Development – Charles Griffith
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade and Leader of Government Business in the Senate – Senator Dr Jerome Walcott
  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Foreign Trade – Sandra Husbands
  • Minister of International Business and Industry – Ronald Toppin
  • Minister of Environment and National Beautification – Trevor Prescod
  • Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs – Cynthia Forde
  • Minister of Tourism and International Transport – Kerrie Symmonds
  • Minister of Transport Works and Maintenance – Dr William Duguid
  • Minister of State in Transport Works and Maintenance – Peter Phillips
  • Minister of Health and Wellness – Jeffrey Bostic
  • Minister of Home Affairs – Edmund Hinkson
  • Minister of Small Business, Entrepreneurship and Commerce – Dwight Sutherland
  • Minister of Energy and Water Resources – Wilfred Abrahams
  • Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Relations – Colin Jordan
  • Minister of Youth and Community Empowerment – Adrian Forde
  • Minister of Maritime Affairs and the Blue Economy – Kirk Humphrey
  • Minister of Agriculture and Food Security – Indar Weir
  • Ministry of Creative Economy, Culture and Sports – John King
  • Minister of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology – Senator Kay McConney
  • Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs- Senator Lucille Moe

The full list of Government Senators are:

  • Senator Sir Richard Cheltenham, President
  • Senator Rudolph ‘Cappy’ Greenidge, Deputy President
  • Senator Dr Jerome Walcott
  • Senator Kay McConnie
  • Senator Lucille Moe
  • Senator Roland Adams
  • Senator Lisa Cummins
  • Senator Rudy Grant
  • Senator Dr Rommel Springer
  • Senator Lynette Holder
  • Senator Damien Sands
  • Senator Dr Chrystal Haynes