Caribbean Women To Open Qualifiers

News Americas, NEW YORK, NY, Fri. Aug. 12, 2011: The women’s under 17 teams from The Bahamas, Antigua & Barbuda and Bermuda will open their qualifying round of matches this Sunday for the CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s Championship.

The Bahamas will host first-round Group A in Nassau, with three games over five days.

Guyana will host Group C in Georgetown August 17-21 with Curacao and Anguilla, while the Dominican Republic will be home in San Cristobal against Aruba and Jamaica August 24-28 in Group D.

Group B will be comprised of Trinidad & Tobago, Dominica and St. Kitts & Nevis, with dates and times yet to be determined.

The four group winners will advance to a second group stage from which three will qualify for the eight-team CONCACAF finals next year.

The finals also will include North American sides the United States, Canada and Mexico as well as two from Central America.

CONCACAF will send three teams to the U-17 Women’s World Cup in Azerbaijan set for September 12-October 13, 2012.