Dominican Republic Imposes Ebola Travel Ban

CBP Enhanced Ebola Screening at JFK Airport.
CBP Enhanced Ebola Screening at JFK Airport. (US CPB image)

 By NAN Staff Writer

News Americas, WASHINGTON, D.C., Weds. Oct. 22, 2014: The Dominican Republic has joined other countries in the Caribbean in banning entry to foreigners who have visited Ebola-affected countries.

Dominican Health Minister Altagracia Guzman says the ban applies to travelers who have been in those countries in the past 30 days. She announced Tuesday that authorities will remain vigilant at airports, seaports and the border it shares with Haiti.

Jamaica, Guyana, St. Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago have so announced similar travel restrictions.

The news comes as the Obama Administration again insisted Tuesday it is not considering implementing visa bans at this time. Still the Department of Homeland Security yesterday announced additional efforts and protective measures to prevent the spread of Ebola to the United States.

“Passengers arriving in the United States whose travel originates in Liberia, Sierra Leone, or Guinea will be required to fly into one of the five airports that have the enhanced screening and additional resources in place,” Marie Harf, deputy spokesperson at the U.S. State Department said yesterday.

Passengers flying into JFK NY, Newark, Dulles, Atlanta, and Chicago –from flights originating in any of these three countries – will be subject to secondary screening and added protocols, including having their temperature taken, before they can be admitted into the United States. These airports account for about 94 percent of travelers flying to the U.S. from these countries.

The deadly Ebola virus has infected at least 9,216 people and killed 4,555, according to the World Health Organization.