Promotion 24/7 with CaribPR

Guyana President, Donald Ramotar, r, taking his oath of office on Dec. 4, 2011.
News Americas, GEORGETOWN, Guyana, Mon. Dec. 6, 2011: Newly-sworn in Guyana President, Donald Ramotar, has named a Peoples Progressive Party/Civic-only cabinet of 20.

Ramotar today swore in the 20 members that includes five new ministers and one new ministry. The new faces include Attorney General, Anil Nandalall; former Region Two Chairman, Ally Baksh, who is now the Minister within the Ministry of Agriculture and Ethnic Relations; Labour Minister, Dr. Nankishore Gopaul; and Commission Chairman Juan Edghill, now Minister within the Ministry of Finance.

Nandlall promised that his ministry would be engaged in “a lot of consultation” with the Guyana Bar Association, the business community, the opposition and other stakeholders. “Every decision I make, I will try as far as possible for them to be as consensual as possible because we need the cooperation of all involved for us to take the legal system forward,” he told reporters.

The Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce is still to be appointed.

Ramotar ignored called for a national front government by naming a party-only slate. The cabinet appointment came two days after Ramotar was sworn in as President despite calls by the opposition, APNU, (A Partnership For National Unity), for a confirmed statement of poll on the Nov. 28th elections.

The full cabinet is:
Prime Minister, Samuel Hinds
Ally Baksh – Minister Within the Ministry of Agriculture
Irfaan Ali – Minister of Housing
Dr. Frank Anthony – Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport
Robeson Benn – Minister Of Public Works
Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett – Minister of Foreign Affairs
Juan Edghill – Minister within the Ministry of Finance
Dr. Nanda Gopaul – Minister of Labour
Priya Manickchand – Minister of Education
Anil Nandlall – Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
Ganga Persaud – Minister of Local Government and Regional Development
Robert Persaud – Minister of Natural Resources and Environment
Dr. Leslie Ramsammy – Minister of Agriculture
Dr. Bheri Ramsarran – Minister of Health
Clement Rohee – Minister of Home Affairs
Dr. Ashni Singh – Minister of Finance
Pauline Sukhai – Minister of Amerindian Affairs
Jennifer Webster – Minister of Human Services and Social Security
Dr. Jennifer Westford- Minister of Public Service
Norman Whittaker- Minister within the Ministry of local Government and Regional Development.

Digital Marketing by Hard Beat Communications