Will The World Athlete of the Year Be Bolt Or Shelly-Ann?

News Americas, NEW YORK, NY, Fri. Oct. 4, 2013: Who will claim the prestigious World Athlete of the Year honor this year? Will it be Jamaican stars Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce?

Both are among the 10-men and 10-women shortlisted for the IAAF’s 2013 World Athlete of the Year Award and the only Caribbean athletes to make the list.
Bolt managed to hold on to his title as world’s fastest man this year while Fraser-Pryce also made history in Moscow, becoming the first woman to win the treble of 100m, 200m and relay golds at the Worlds.

The shortlist will be trimmed to three men and as many women following a voting process and the winner of the World Athlete of the Year Award will be announced during the World Athletics Gala Nov 16th.

The candidates for the World Athlete of the Year Award are (athletes listed in alphabetical order):

Mohammed Aman, Ethiopia
Usain Bolt, Jamaica
Bohdan Bondarenko, Ukraine
Ashton Eaton, United States
Mohamed Farah, Britain
Robert Harting, Germany
Wilson Kipsang, Kenya
Aleksandr Menkov, Russia
LaShawn Merritt, United States
Teddy Tamgho, France

Valerie Adams, New Zealand
Abeba Aregawi, Sweden
Meseret Defar, Ethiopia
Tirunesh Dibaba, Ethiopia
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Jamaica
Zuzana Hejnova, Czech Repbulic
Caterine Ibarguen, Colombia
Sandra Perkovic, Croatia
Brianna Rollins, United States
Svetlana Shkolina, Russia