Windies Board Overlooks Several For Retainers

News Americas, ST. JOHN’S, Antigua, Fri. Oct. 7, 2011: The list of retainer contracts from the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) are done but several players, including Chris Gayle, have been left out.

Reports indicate that those left out are former captains Gayle and Ramnaresh Sarwan; vice-captain Brendon Nash, all-rounders Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard, left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn, Nikita Miller, left-handed batsman Devon Smith and all-rounder Dave Bernard Jr.

Retainers from the board range in value from $80,000 to $120,000 annually.

Players offered contract include current West Indies captain Darren Sammy, Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh Jr, Darren Bravo, veteran batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Nelon Pascal, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, off-spinner Shane Shillingford, Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shannon Gabriel, Kieran Powell, and Devon Thomas.