Promotion 24/7 with CaribPR

News Americas, NEW YORK, NY, Fri. Jan. 26, 2018: The Donald Trump administration has made nationals of two Caribbean nations ineligible for temporary agricultural and seasonal visas.

The Department of Homeland Security, (DHS), last week said citizens of Haiti and Belize will now be prohibited from applying for the temporary H-2A and H-2B visas.

DHS publishes a list of eligible countries annually. This year, 83 countries are included in the list, but Haiti and Belize were noticeably absent.

In the filing, DHS justifies the move by noting that the nationals “present extremely high rates of refusal” and “have historically demonstrated high levels of fraud and abuse and a high rate of overstaying the terms of their H-2 admission.”

Digital Marketing by Hard Beat Communications