Chris Gayle, l, with the CPL 2016 trophy.














By NAN Contributor

News Americas, BASSETERRE, St. Kitts, Mon. Aug. 8, 2016: Jamaican cricket team, the Jamaica Tallawahs, are  the returning champions of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

The Tallawahs are thanking their fans via Twitter after winning their second CPL title in four years Sunday by beating the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final of the tournament at the Warner Park Stadium in Basseterre, St Kitts on Sunday.

Top international cricketer Chris Gayle-led the Tallawahs to victory as the Warriors were bundled for a meager 93 runs in just 16.1 overs.

Gayle helped his side to the win with his third fifty-plus score of the season, reaching his half-century off 22 balls and ending up with 54 off 27 balls. Chadwick Walton  added 25 not out while Kumar Sangakkara struck the winning runs with a four smeared wide of long-on off Amazon’s Veerasammy Permaul to clinch the title with 7.1 overs to spare.

“#TeamTallawah #OneTeamBigDreams,” The Tallawahs tweeted last night.